My adventures in Darkroom Wonderland

Yesterday i tried to develop my first roll of film. I probably tried to be too adventurous for first time, as i had shot some no-name Truprint color negative film and tried to develop in B/W chemistry. It should have been ok, like this http://www.flickr.com/groups/analogphotograpy/discuss/72157606348070629/ . But turns out my developer wasn’t just old it was completely dead 🙂 In result i got blank film with few spots were layers of film touched each other (i also wound it up improperly on reel). Also I didn’t use thermometer, as I got fed up to wait for stupid thing to arrive from China. Today i did clip test, ok it was paper test for me. I put one small part of B/W photo paper (Ilford Multigrade IV) in one developer and other part freshly mixed Agfa Atomal, which also looked a little bit brown. While paper in Atomal turned instantly black, the other paper  showed absolutely no effect it just started to expose to light.  Developer which i later threw out was Labor Partner LS-Cube XS ( now known as Rollei RLS), it was half full bottle, and probably opened 7 years back, it was at least 3 years in my basement after i got my chemicals from disbanded photo  group/school. So next i`ll try my “new” Atomal for which i have several packs, also Atomal FF, if that doesn`t work i still have Ilford Perceptol, thank god it looks like it`s quite new 🙂  So tomorrow i`ll buy proper B/W film shoot it and hopefully  will get some results after developing 🙂 Plus i should have taken some trailer leaders from my job to practice wounding up film on reel, as one “dummy” roll probably wasn’t enough.

One thought on “My adventures in Darkroom Wonderland

Leave a Reply

